What’s NAFM?

Native American Flute Music.

charles1-web

Envision your mind being carried in a canoe down a beautiful river.

Mind. Canoe. River.

canoe_river_2048x1152

That is NAFM.

Native American Flute Music is my medicine; it is our “brand” so to speak. It’s a music that resonates with my family and we have found it very effective.

My NAFM is a running joke among friends, but did you know that music therapy is a “thing”?

Brief History of Music Therapy

Evidence of music being used for healing is prevalent in the earliest recordings of human history. Music has been used in rituals, awakenings, and made its “modern” medical debut when it began being used in hospitals during the first and second world wars. Nurses and medical professionals began to see the astounding effects that music had on their war veteran patients’ physical, emotional, and mental well-being and began hiring professional musicians for hospital use. Thus, developed the compounding scientific research, music therapy education institutes, and various music therapy groups and associations dedicated to the advocating and reputation of the healing benefits of music.

Music IS Healing

Music has been seen to lower pulse, blood pressure, ease labor, aid in sleep, reduce stress, and in pain management among many other documented benefits.

The benefits of music are as varied as focus and concentration in the classroom to assisting in labor and delivery. It has been seen to help everything from autism, bi polar disorder, and PTSD to cancer patients.

Who can benefit?

“Music Therapy can benefit the following populations and conditions: children, adolescents, adults, and the elderly with mental health needs, developmental and learning disabilities, Alzheimer’s disease and other aging related conditions, substance abuse problems, brain injuries, physical disabilities, and acute and chronic pain, including mothers in labor.” (http://musictherapyconnections.org/who-can-benefit-from-music-therapy/)

Personal Testimony

My first experience with music therapy was in school, I used classical music for studying and writing. Music therapy, I firmly believe, was a major factor in contributing to a very peaceful, calm, and relaxing experience at the birth of my first child. NAFM was the only thing that helped a horrible headache/flu, once, when nothing else helped. I was actually a bit astonished because it “cured” my discomfort and headache. When played during toddler tantrums, the music has been a great distraction and puts my toddler into a trance-like state. Not in a weird hypnotic way, but with a calming and centering effect. We also use it every night for bedtime. Did I mention it’s relaxing?

All in all, music therapy is a non invasive approach to healing or aiding almost any ailment. It’s a “tried and true” form of holistic healing in our home and I would recommended for most any scenario that doesn’t involve extreme motivation. I’ve even upgraded my Pandora account just for my “Native American Flute Radio” station so I always have it handy.

Let me know about your experiences with music therapy and when you do try NAFM, I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a comment